Late Night Post

It is almost 4 am and I can’t sleep. Less than 17 hours ago there was an Earthquake of intensity 7.8 on the Richter scale that struck Nepal and caused devastation there. It was 11.41 am when I felt that my bed was shaking. Having woken up to a typical  late night late morning weekend nap, it was difficult for me to comprehend the situation and it was only when my grandmother called from the other room, that I realized something was seriously wrong. Gathering my Little brother and her. we tried to rush out only to realize that the calamity had passed.

It was 20 minutes later when I felt the kitchen floor shaking again. Losing no time in the midst I has prepared a safety kit of sorts and made her wear all the necessary support equipments, this time we reached the main gate only to realize that the calamity had passed.

It was then that I called all my loved ones and enquired about their well-being. They responded in affirmative.

At the same time some thousand miles away, there was a place which I had visited some years back and had fallen in love with fell prey to the ultimate destiny. I didn’t lose someone close yet I have had this plaguing fear all day. What about the 1800 people who lost their families. It is almost impossible to believe that the same creator who is our father governs such destruction also.

There was a huge alert issued for us and I don’t know what’s going to happen tomorrow or precisely the very next moment. But yes today I found a new-found respect for life. Maybe it was our creator who has given us another chance to enjoy life without the worldly vices and advises.

And  that’s what is precisely I am going to do.

To tell everyone I know that I love them. And to the ones I hurt, I am sorry.

We could have been them,it is not our luck rather the creator’s will that we were not. That he considered us worthy of a second chance. And for that and so many other things I thank him.

Leave a Reply

